Istanbul in winter

January 8, 2009

3_view

Some cities for me are charming in all seasons. Cold, rainy, windy or wintery sunny – a visit to Istanbul any time is a delight.

2_s_dali Currently the Sabancı University Sakıp Sabancı Museum is hosting a Salvador Dali exhibition (until 1 Feb 09). Dali’s fans still can make it.

A walk through the charming narrow streets from the ancient Galata Tower to Istanbul Modern (Museum of Modern Art) is actually a walk in time. At Istanbul Modern, among other amazing art pieces, the ‘Human Conditions’ exhibition is a delight to the eyes (running till 25 Jan 09).

5_medusa In the Basilica Cistern the upside down Medusa head supporting one of the columns made me think again on Human Conditions ancient versus modern.

Time is one thing I always find short in Istanbul. It is never enough for all I want to see or do. But the (Turkish) delight always abounds.
Selection of my Istanbul dozen shots’08.

4 Responses to “Istanbul in winter”


  1. [...] Here the Blue Mosque and the Egyptian Obelisk are paintings on the wall…however the memories of Istanbul are vivid. Delicious food,  Turkish coffee … and in the late hours an Oriental [...]


  2. Really? Sakıp Sabancı Museum is hosting a Salvador Dali exhibition? Oh, this is a great thing, I must plan a visit! Anyway, I agree, Istanbul is always worth a trip, in every season. I’d be glad if you follow my blog, I’ve posts about Sakıp Sabancı Museum, Yerebatan sarnıcı and much more…
    Bye! :)

    Travel in Istanbul
    http://travelinistanbul.wordpress.com

  3. Rayn@ Says:

    Nice blog, I will follow it. Thanks for the link. The Dali exhibition I visited was there at the beginning of the year. Istanbul has a lot to offer in every season.


  4. [...] winter or any time – same and always [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

